I DON’T HAVE A BRAND

In doing research for starting this blog (read: Google), I learned that the buzz around branding has not yet died. Having recently departed from a company with a globally recognizable brand that was so poorly run that management thought it was a good idea to get rid of me, I have decided to buck the trend. So yeah, I have no brand. I also have no mission statement and no business plan. I have no long-term vision (or virtually any vision at all now that I’m fifty), no marketing strategy, and no plan for how to grow the business.

What I do have is brutal honesty, a sense of humor, and some free time while I wait for the snow to melt in the woods. So if you are looking for a laugh, I’m your gal. Otherwise you should probably just move on to the next whatever it is that you do instead of working at work.

Now back to branding…

It appears the world is still under the belief system that one cannot be successful without a clear and specific brand. I’m obviously no brand expert, but I’m almost certain that this is untrue.  Isn’t that why we have the word off-brand? What about generic? Sadly, I am old enough to remember when the generic groceries were rolled out back in the 80s. (I’m sure I have just lost anyone under the age of 30 with that statement, but let’s face it, they weren’t going to be reading for long anyway.) Not gonna lie, generic potato chips were not my favorite. But they were cheaper than Lay’s, so I bought them.

Of course that was before the era of branding. Today when I go to the pharmacy and get my generic medication, then wander to the discount store for my off-brand, slightly-IR shirts and pants, are those businesses not successful because they have no brand? If so, please give me some of that unsuccess because they sure get a lot of my American branded monies.

So my plan is to forge ahead without a brand, or a plan, and see what happens. Wait a minute; did I just make a business plan? Someone stop me before I start yelling about doing a deep dive and working smarter not harder. Hope I don’t have to hire a Agent of Change for that…

6 thoughts on “I DON’T HAVE A BRAND

  1. Your blog is the ultimate straw-man for all future blogs. You really think outside of the box. You’re peeling the layers of an onion. You’ve run it up the flagpole and we can either salute or throw tomatoes. And finally, your blog is complex but it’s not complicated…or the other way around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

